OCR Level 3 Cambridge Technical Extended Certificate

Subject Information

IT is a growing industry and affects all walks of life. From smartphones and Wi-Fi, to hashtags and instant messaging: over the last 20 years, technology has dramatically changed the way in which we live and communicate.   Does your interest in technology extend beyond the hardware? Are you curious about how digital information is spread? Maybe you just want to know more about computers and how, when and why people use them? If so, the Cambridge Technical Extended Certificate in IT is the course for you.

OCR have designed a refreshing and exciting course that is up to date, engaging and fit for purpose. The course has a wide range of centre assessed units with practical and wider project-based assessment opportunities, as well as examined units on the Fundamentals of IT, Global Information, and Cyber Security

Cambridge Technicals provide a strong base for progression to university, apprenticeships or work and are recognised for UCAS tariff points.

This course leads to the learner achieving an Introductory Diploma in IT which is equivalent to an A-level


Unit 1 – Fundamental of IT (Examined) – 1.5 hour Exam

A sound understanding of IT technologies and practices is essential for IT professionals. Information learnt in this unit will create a solid foundation in the fundamentals of hardware, networks, software, the ethical use of computers and how businesses use IT.

Unit 2 – Global Information (Examined) – 1.5 hour Exam

The purpose of this unit is to demonstrate the uses of information in the public domain, globally, in the cloud and across the Internet, by individuals and organisations. You will discover that good management of both data and information is essential and that it can give any organisation a competitive edge.

Unit 3 – Cyber Security (Examined) – 1 hour Exam

This unit has been designed to enable you to gain knowledge and understanding of the range of threats, vulnerabilities and risks that impact on both individuals and organisations. You will learn about the solutions that can be used to prevent or deal with cyber security incidents resulting from these challenges.

Unit 8 – Project Management (Portfolio)

This unit will provide you with the opportunity to understand and use various project planning skills and techniques, thereby enabling you to become more effective in the workplace.

Unit 9 – Product Development (Portfolio)

The purpose of this unit is to prepare you to undertake product development activities. You will learn about different product design methodologies and the role of the product development life cycle. In addition, you will discover the factors that influence product developments.


Students will gain a qualification that will give them access to the numerous IT and Computer Science based courses that are on offer at Universities.  Such courses include:

  • BSc         Computer Science
  • BSc         Computing
  • BSc         Multimedia Computing
  • BSc         Forensic Computing
  • BSc         (Hons) Software Engineering
  • BSc         (Hons) Business Computing

In addition it will give students the knowledge and skills relevant to working in an ICT environment.

Careers include:

  • Programming
  • Technician
  • Network Engineer
  • Systems Analyst
  • Web Designer
  • ICT Teacher
  • Network Manager
  • Computer Administration

Further Information

Please see:

  • Mr Dixon
  • Mrs Watson
  • Mrs Kelly
  • Miss Dickinson
  • Mr Pinnock